Eureka! Or Why We Are Jungle Beasts

Standard


I had a Eureka! moment the other day. I had stopped at the pedestrian red light at a crossroads on Hamra, waiting, with my daughter in her stroller, for the light to go green so I can cross over to the other side of the street. Two guys arrived by my side but didn’t stop walking; they confidently kept going, and they were about to pull the famous Lebanese zig-zag maneuver among the stream of cars when they noticed poor’ol me standing there. They took pity on the lady with the baby who couldn’t make it on her own in that jungle, so they invited me to tag along their heroic procession to be able to cross over: “l7a2eena l7a2eena”, Β they said. I raised my voice above the din and assured them that I was waiting for the light to go green.

So this is it then; one of the reasons why the Lebanese do not respect laws is because they view compliance as a sign of weakness, and “feminine” weakness for that matter, and God forbid that a Lebanese male should be accused of such an affliction.

5 responses »

    • Yes I think you should! Facebook is the communication tool of our time.. It’s much easier to follow blogs via facebook. I have the app on my mobile and can check new posts whenever I like. No need to go and check wordpress in the evening. Most people have facebook and many like to follow pages but not all of them have heard of wordpress πŸ˜‰ Convinced? πŸ˜‰

      Check out Me & Beirut on fcbk (by clicking on the icon on my blog). On the fcbk page, there is also a link to my personal account. Pls add me as a friend πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

